MARYLAND PORT ADMINSTRATION

GOVERNMENT FLEET/COMPANY OWNED VEHICLE DECALS

DOCUEMENTS REQUIRED:

- 1. Company Signature Authorization Letter (Sample letter available upon request at ACC).
- 2. Completed Fleet/Company Owned Vehicle Decal Application.
- 3. Copies of the Valid Registration Card (indicating company ownership) and Valid Proof of Insurance.
- 4. Copy of Lease Agreement if leasing, must be presented.
- 5. Valid MPA ID Badge, TWIC and Driver License must be presented.

Important Notice:

Maryland law requires you to display a decal to operate a vehicle on MPA property. (COMAR Title 11 Subtitle 5 Chapter 3).

Company Owned Vehicle decals will expire annually on December 31st. Decals may be renewed beginning November 1st. There is no limit to the number of company owned/leased vehicles registered however, there is a weight restriction. Decals will not be issued to Company Owned Vehicles with a GRVW (gross vehicle weight) of 10 tons (20,000 lbs) or more. This restriction does don't apply to Government Fleet Vehicles. Government Fleet Vehicle decals do not expire and are not required to be renewed annually.

Decals will be issued to applicant for all vehicles at one-time. Decals must be applied to the lower left corner of front windshield in full view with no obstructions. Modifying or covering up the decal is prohibited.

Applicants needing to renew or obtain a replacement decal will only be required to provide additional documentation if you are unable to show proof of your current valid decal(s). See Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ's) for the additional documentation required.

MARYLAND PORT ADMINSTRATION

PRIVATELY OWNED VEHICLE DECALS

DOCUEMENTS REQUIRED:

- 1. Completed Privately Owned Vehicle (POV) Decal Application.
- 2. Valid Registration Card and Valid Proof of Insurance.
- 3. Valid MPA ID Badge, TWIC and Driver License (Note: If you have an out of state address from a non-bordering Maryland State, further review/approval is required.) Maryland law requires drivers/ new residents to Maryland 60 days to obtain a Maryland driver's license and to register their vehicle. You have 30 days if you hold a commercial driver's license.
- 4. Addresses must match on your Driver's License and Registration Card. A Change of Address card will be accepted.

Important Notice:

Maryland law requires you to display a decal to operate a vehicle on MPA property. (COMAR Title 11 Subtitle 5 Chapter 3).

Decals will expire annually at the end of the operator's birth month. Decals may be renewed from 30 days prior to; up to and including the last day of their birth month.

A maximum of 3 vehicles may be registered. All new applicants will be required to bring each vehicle to the ACC for the guard to apply the decal. Modifying or covering up the decal is prohibited. All renewal applicants are not required to bring each vehicle back to ACC. The guard will issue renewal stickers to be applied by the vehicle operator.

Applicants needing to renew or obtain a replacement decal will only be required to provide additional documentation if you are unable to show proof of your current valid decal(s). See Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ's) for the additional documentation required.

ISSUANCE OF 14 DAY VEHICLE PASSES

DOCUEMENTS REQUIRED:

- 1. Lease or Rental Agreement. (Note: If you do not have a Lease or Rental Agreement, further review/approval is required.)
- 2. Valid Driver's License, MPA ID Badge and TWIC.

Important Notice:

Individuals who are unable to drive their valid decaled vehicle on MPA property are authorized to use the visitors list for 7 days. If additional days are needed, individuals must apply for a 14 Day Vehicle Pass. The 14 Day Vehicle Pass is issued on special security paper. If copied, the pass will show "VOID". The pass will include the operator's full name, company and dates pass is valid for and must be placed on the dash board of the vehicle you are temporarily operating.

Rev. 3/27/2014

MARYLAND PORT ADMINSTRATION

Frequent Asked Questions:

- 1. What if my vehicle is traded or tags transferred to a new vehicle? The valid decal must be returned or the new registration card or a temporary registration card or documentation indicating vehicle is no longer insured must be provided.
- 2. What if I returned the tags to MVA? The valid decal must be returned or a receipt from the MVA showing the tags were returned or documentation form your insurance company indicating the vehicle is no longer insured must be provided.
- 3. What if I replaced the windshield in my vehicle? The valid decal must be returned or a receipt from the auto glass repair specialist showing replacement of the windshield must be provided.
- 4. What if I totaled or sold my vehicle? The valid decal must be returned or a receipt from the MVA showing the tags were returned or documentation form your insurance company must be provided indicating the vehicle is no longer insured.
- 5. What if I junked my vehicle? The valid decal must be returned or a receipt showing the car was junked or documentation form your insurance company must be provided indicating the vehicle is no longer insured.
- 6. Why do I need to provide 3 forms of identification? The MPA ID Badge shows your purpose on MPA property and company sponsorship. The TWIC is proof you have been vetted by TSA and a Driver License is proof you may operate a vehicle.
- 7. What if my decal has expired and I do not intend to renew it? It is not necessary to return the expired decal or provide any other documentation.
- 8. Can I submit copies of the POV and Government Fleet/Company Vehicle application acceptable? Yes, applicant does not need to submit an original application. Signatures will be verified against the applicant's driver license or company authorized signatures on file.
- 9. Are electronic documents acceptable showing Proof of Insurance and Registration Cards? No, physical documents must be presented for verification.
- 10. Will I receive a receipt for decals returned? Receipts are available upon request.
- 11. Do I have to submit all required documents to obtain a replacement decal? If you are replacing a decal on a vehicle already registered and have returned the previously issued valid decal, no.
- 12. Do I have to register or renew all vehicles in which I intend to operate on MPA property at one time? Applicants shall attempt to register all vehicles at one time and minimize vehicle changes. The MPA may charge a \$25 fee for 2 or more owner directed vehicle changes within a calendar year.
- 13. Will a letter be acceptable if a valid decal cannot be returned? Yes, the letter must be typed, submitted and signed by the vehicle owner stating the reasons why the valid decal cannot be returned.
- 14. Can I register a vehicle with temporary tags or temporary registration? Yes, vehicles with temporary tags are eligible for a temporary decal and temporary registrations will be verified and accepted.

Rev. 3/27/2014